Presentation to Year 2 on GDDs

Today I stepped out of my comfort zone and did a talk to the second years about the Games Design Document that we had to work on last year.

GDDs are often lengthy and it would have been very boring for me to have talked about everything so I decided to make a handout that highlighted the main points and areas that  I covered in my assessment. Below is the handout. 

I hope it has been useful for the second years as, when I was in their position, it would have been helpful to have some sort of structure to go off of from someone who had worked on one before. I had a couple of people come up to me afterwards and thank me for making this handout and that it helped them so I feel quite positive about my presentation outcome. I understand there’s no definitive template, but I hope I was able to structure something that helped the second years go forward.

This was a big day for me, and I’m proud of how far I’ve come considering that in year 1 I could barely speak in presentations. I feel that by doing more presentations over the past couple of years has helped a lot and I feel more confident in presenting in the future; this should hopefully help me in the industry when talking to clients about my ideas too. 

Leave a Reply

